July 06, 2015

Four Hundred Senior Activists to Descend on Washington This Week

Washington, DC – Beginning on Tuesday, July 7, at 1:00 pm, four hundred activist members of the Alliance for Retired Americans from across the country will sharpen their political organizing and advocacy skills at a four-day conference at the Washington Hilton. Attendees will visit their members of Congress to advocate on key issues such as Social Security, Medicare, and retirement security.

In addition, the attendees will hear from speakers including:

  • U.S. House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi
  • Rep. Keith Ellison
  • Rep. Ruben Gallego
  • Rep. Jan Schakowsky
  • Sen. Debbie Stabenow
  • Sen. Elizabeth Warren
  • Mark Dimondstein, President, American Postal Workers Union (APWU)
  • Richard L. Trumka, President, AFL-CIO
  • Nora Super, Executive Director, White House Conference on Aging

For a complete schedule of speakers between July 7 and July 10, with times, visit:
2015 National Legislative Conference Agenda or contact David Blank at dblank@retiredamericans.org.

What:              Alliance for Retired Americans 2015 National Legislative Conference

Where:           Washington Hilton
1919 Connecticut Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20009

When:             Tuesday, July 7, 2015, 1:00 pm – Friday, July 10, noon

Who:               Speakers will include the following:

Tuesday, July 7, 1:00 – 3:00 PM
Joslyn Williams, President, Metropolitan Washington Council, AFL-CIO
Barbara Easterling, President, Alliance for Retired American
Richard L. Trumka, President, AFL-CIO
Richard Fiesta, Executive Director, Alliance for Retired Americans
Nora Super, Executive Director, White House Conference on Aging
Diane Oakley, Executive Director, National Institute on Retirement Security

Wednesday, July 8, 8:30 – 1:30 PM
Jo Etta Brown, Executive Vice-President, Alliance for Retired American
Susan Arthur, FINRA Investor Protection Campaign
Will Fischer, Executive Director, Union Veterans Council
Max Fine, Member of President Kennedy’s White House Task Force on Medicare

Thursday, July 9, 8:30 AM – 9:00 PM
U.S. House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi
Rep. Ruben Gallego
Mark Dimondstein, President, APWU
Sen. Elizabeth Warren
Sen. Debbie Stabenow

Friday, July 10, 8:30 AM – 12:00 PM
Rep. Jan Schakowsky
Rep. Keith Ellison

Written by
Topics: Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.