May 16, 2023

Illinois Alliance for Retired Americans Senior Power Celebration 2022

The Illinois Alliance for Retired Americans Senior Power Celebration 2022

IARA Board Members with award winners Representative Lakesia Collins and Beatrice Lumpkin

The Illinois Alliance for Retired Americans (IARA) celebrated its 20th anniversary with a Senior Power Celebration to be remembered! This year, the IARA took the annual luncheon to Springfield, Illinois for a return to in-person celebration. Over 130 of our retiree leaders gathered at the Plumbers & Steamfitters Hall for an exciting new program, including honoring three retiree champions with awards.

Frank and Beatrice Lumpkin Award

Beatrice Lumpkin, Senior Power Celebration, 2022

Following 2021’s Senior Power Celebration, the Board Members of IARA decided they wanted to do more to recognize the most dedicated seniors. The seniors who not only power our organization, but who spent their lives building the labor movement, and continue to push onward for a better life for everyone. There was no hesitation or debate in creation of an annual Frank and Beatrice Lumpkin Award.  

Read more about the Frank and Beatrice Lumpkin Award as well as watch Bea’s acceptance speech, here.

Retiree Hero Award

Representative Collins is joined on stage by IARA Executive Director Jesus Palafox, IARA Treasurer, Katie Jordan, and Board Members Jaquie Algee and Stephanie Collins

The second of the new awards is the Retiree Hero Award. This award honors young leaders who are champions, with a proven track record, for the needs and rights of seniors and retirees across the state of Illinois. The IARA Board Members knew immediately Representative Lakesia Collins (IL-9) is the perfect choice for the inaugural award.

Read more about the Retiree Hero Award, and watch Representative Lakesia Collins acceptance speech, here.  

Jerry Prete Award

AFSCME Chapter 31 Executive Director Roberta Lynch Accepting the Jerry Prete Award, Senior Power Celebration 2022.

The Jerry Prete Award is the long-standing annual award that honors movement leaders who have a steadfast commitment to seniors, retirees, and workers throughout Illinois; as well as sharing in the Illinois Alliance for Retired Americans values and mission of retirement with dignity and respect. We are honored to recognize Executive Director Roberta Lynch’s decades of work with AFSCME, and long history of grassroots community, labor, and political organizing with the Jerry Prete Award.

Read more about the Jerry Prete Award, and watch Executive Director Roberta Lynch’s acceptance speech, here. 

Watch the opening remarks from IARA President, Don Todd

Watch the call to action from Co-Director of Citizen Action, IL, William McNary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *