September 21, 2023

Introducing the New Board of the Illinois Alliance for Retired Americans


This past weekend, the IARA hosted our biennial convention at the UAW Pat Greathouse Education Center in Ottawa.
We were thrilled to be joined by UAW Illinois political/legislative coordinator John Gedney, our national Executive Director Rich Fiesta, our national field director Maureen Dunn, Bea Lumpkin and members of Intergen, Knox County Board Member and 17th congressional district central committeewoman Pamela Davison, Citizen Action Illinois Deputy Director Anusha Thotakura and Retiring Citizen Action Illinois Co Director William McNary.
From our President Don Todd: “I am very pleased with the Illinois Alliance for Retired Americans newly elected Executive Board and newly elected Secretary Jane Russell. The IARA will also continue to have proven leadership returning with Miller Rodgers continuing as Executive Vice President and Katy Jordan returning as our Treasurer. Congratulations to everyone.
Members of the IARA membership can be assured that as we approach the 2024 elections you are represented by an experienced and dedicated Executive Board and Officers. With your help we will build a stronger IARA during the next two years and we will win passage of more important legislation on behalf of senior citizens and elect friends of seniors to office in 2024.
In Solidarity, Don Todd”
During this convention we elected the executive officers of President and Secretary, as well as our board of directors—
Don was re-elected as President for a second term and we are welcoming Jane Russel (IFT) to the board as our newly elected Secretary. They will join Executive Vice President Miller Rodgers (UAW) and Treasurer Katie Jordan as our Executive Officers.
We are welcoming two newly appointed Vice Presidents to the board–Carl Bishop with UAW Region 4 and Elaine Barlos with IFT. They will join Janet Kilgus (IEA), Jaquie Algee (SEIU), Maria Britton-Sipe (AFSCME chapter 31), and Tim Drea (Illinois AFL-CIO) as members of the Executive Committee.
We are pleased that our outgoing secretary Jacki Naughton (IFT) will be continuing on as a labor director, along with Bruce Bernard (IFT) Drunita Steward (CTU), Charlotte Sanders (CTU), Gary Hall (West Central Union Retirees), Kim Johnson (AFSCME), Peter Mendoza (AFSCME), Scott Marshall (SOAR), Marcia Starks (UAW), Velma Walton (UAW) as Labor Directors on the Board.
We are also happy to announce that Stephanie Collins (Chicago Metro Retirees), Helen Smith (Chicago Metro retirees), Michael Malmstrom (Quad Cities ARA), and Kay Pence (Quad Cities ARA) will serve as Community Directors on our board.
Written by
Topics: Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *